Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Prof. emer. Albert Schmid

Founder of the institute
Picture of Prof. emer. Albert Schmid
Albert Schmid

Albert Schmid was born 9 November 1929 in Biberach (Riss) near Ulm, Germany. After graduating from Wieland-Oberschule in Biberach he joined Technische Hochschule Karlsruhe to study physics. He obtained the degree Diplomphysiker in 1956 and the doctoral degree Dr.rer.nat. in 1960, for experimental work in atomic physics and plasma physics. In 1960 he became assistant in the theoretical physics group at the TH Karlsruhe, where he stayed till 1970. In 1966 he obtained the Habilitation degree for work on a time-dependent Ginzburg-Landau theory of superconductors. In that time period he went for a first extended research stay, 1964-65 to the University of Urbana, Illinois, USA, joining the group of John Bardeen. A second stay followed 1968-69 as a Senior Scientist Fellow of N.S.F. at the Stevens Institute of Technology, Hoboken, NJ, USA. In 1970 he spent several months as a visiting scientist at the Research Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of Helsinki, Finland. In 1970 Albert Schmid accepted a full professor position at the newly founded University of Dortmund, where he had a big part in establishing the physics institute and shaping the physics program. Six years later he moved back to Karlsruhe, where he founded and directed the Institut für Theorie der Kondensierten Materie until his retirement in 1994. During that time he spent three longer periods on sabbatical leave 1979-80 at the Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, 1983-84 at the Ørsted Institute, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, and 1988-89 at the University of Florida, Gainesville, USA.

Albert Schmid was an internationally leading theoretical physicist in the area of condensed matter physics and quantum statistical physics. He pioneered several of the by now well established concepts in the areas:

  • dynamical critical fluctuations in superconductors
  • kinetic theory of superconductors out of equilibrium
  • quantum corrections to electron transport in disordered systems
  • dissipative quantum mechanics

Several of Albert Schmid's works stand out as path-breaking contributions. In particular his early studies of the interplay of disorder and interaction was among the first to recognize and address the problems now known as mesoscopic physics.

Albert Schmid was a great theoretical physicist with a deep understanding of physics, admirable creativity, highly independent thinking and outstanding mathematical ability. In pursuit of the scientific truth he was passionate and uncompromising. As a person he was open, engaging, extremely charming with his friends, and sharing freely his highly educated view of the world.

Albert Schmid has also been a dedicated teacher. His lecture courses are characterized by originality and clarity of exposition. He has been a supervisor of several students, who went on to become professors and leading researchers at Universities in Germany, among them Gerd Schön, Ulrich Eckern, Rainer Kree.

The work of Albert Schmid received high recognition and appreciation by the scientific community. He received the Fritz London Memorial Award in 1993. Albert Schmid is the author of about 70 scientific papers, many of them highly influential and frequently cited in the literature. Even more than ten years after his death many of his works are an indispensable resource in current research activities.

Albert Schmid died on January 31st 1998 at the age of 68.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Prof. emer. Albert Schmid

Institutsgründer
Bild von Prof. emer. Albert Schmid
Albert Schmid

Albert Schmid ist am 9. November 1929 in Biberach (Riss) nahe Ulm geboren. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Wieland-Oberschule in Biberach schloss er sich der Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe an, um Physik zu studieren. Er erlangte seinen Abschluss als Diplomphysiker im Jahre 1956 und seinen Abschluss als Dr.rer.nat. für experimentelle Arbeiten im Bereich der Atom- und Plasmaphysik im Jahre 1960. Im selben Jahr wurde er Assistent in der Arbeitsgruppe Theoretische Physik an der TH Karlsruhe, wo er bis 1970 blieb. 1966 beendete er seine Habilitation über Arbeiten an einer zeitabhängigen Ginzburg-Landau-Theorie für Supraleiter. Während dieser Zeit hatte er seinen ersten längeren Forschungsaufenthalt von 1964 bis 1965 an der Universität zu Urbana, Illinois in den USA, wo er sich der Gruppe von John Bardeen anschloss. Ein zweiter Aufenthalt folgte 1968 bis 1969 als Senior Scientist Fellow der N.S.F. am Stevens Institute for Theoretical Physics der Universtität Helsinki in Finnland. Im Jahre 1970 akzeptierte Albert Schmid eine volle Professur an der neugegründeten Universität Dortmund, wo er einen großen Beitrag zur Etablierung des Physikalischen Instituts und Ausgestaltung des Physikstudiums leistete. Sechs Jahre später zog er zurück nach Karlsruhe, wo er das Institut für Theorie der Kondensierten Materie gründete und bis zu seiner Pensionierung im Jahre 1994 leitete. Während dieser Zeit verbrachte er drei Forschungsjahre; von 1979 bis 1980 am Institute for Theoretical Physics an der University of California, Santa Barbara in den USA, von 1983 bis 1984 am Ørsted Institute an der University of Copenhagen in Dänemark, und von 1998 bis 1989 an der University of Florida, Gainesville in den USA.

Albert Schmid war ein international führender theoretischer Physiker im Bereich der Physik der Kondensierten Materie und der Quantenstatistik. Er hat Pionierarbeit in mehreren inzwischen etablierten Konzepten in folgenden Bereichen geleistet:

  • Dynamische kritische Fluktuationen in Supraleitern
  • Kinetische Theorie von Supraleitern im Nichtgleichgewicht
  • Quantenkorrekturen zum Elektronentransport in ungeordneten Systemen
  • Dissipative Quantenmechanik

Mehrere Arbeiten Albert Schmids zeichnen sich als bahn-brechende Beiträge aus. Insbesondere seine anfänglichen Untersuchungen zum Zusammenspiel von Unordnung und Wechselwirkung waren eine der ersten, die das Problemfeld erkannt und angesprochen haben, das nun als mesoskopische Physik bekannt ist.

Albert Schmid war ein großer theoretischer Physiker mit einem tiefen Verständnis der Physik, einer bewundernswerten Kreativität, unabhängigen Ansichten und herausragenden mathematischen Fähigkeiten. In seinem Streben nach wissenschaftlicher Wahrheit war er leidenschaftlich und kompromisslos. Als Mensch war er offen, einnehmend und sehr charmant mit seinen Freunden, und er teilte freigiebig seine hochgebildete Sicht der Welt.

Albert Schmid war außerdem ein engagierter Lehrer. Seine Vorlesungen waren durch Originalität und Klarheit in der Darstellung charakterisiert. Er war der Doktorvater mehrerer Studenten, welche selbst Professoren und führende Forscher an deutschen Universitäten wurden, darunter Gerd Schön, Ulrich Eckern und Rainer Kree.

Die Arbeit Albert Schmids hat hohe Anerkennung und Bewunderung durch die wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaft bekommen. Er erhielt den Fritz London Memorial Award im Jahere 1993. Albert Schmid ist Autor von rund 70 wissenschaftlichen Fachartikeln, von dene viele in höchstem Maße einflussreich und häufig in der wissenschaftlichen Literatur zitiert sind. Selbst mehr als zehn Jahre nach seinem Tod sind viele seiner Arbeiten eine unabdingbare Ressource in aktuellen Forschungstätigkeiten.

Albert Schmid verstarb am 31. Januar 1998 im Alter von 68 Jahren.